Expectation vs. Reality: Madison Wirth

Coming in as a freshman, I had no idea what to expect. I knew it was going to be a challenge to play at the next level, but I was not sure about the little details that went with playing soccer at Union in the Gulf South Conference. I for sure was not let down my first year!

The Girls

Expectation: I’m a freshman, they won’t really talk to me unless they have to.

Reality: I was totally off. The girls have become my second family. They go out of their way just to say hi to us freshman in the cafeteria. Or sometimes they even send us a text, just checking in on us. I know I can speak on behalf of all the freshman that we are so blessed with all the girls who have made Jackson feel like home.

The Life of a Student-Athlete

Expectation: Soccer will take up a lot of my time

Reality: Soccer took up a huge chunk of about two-thirds of my first semester in college. I knew it would take up a lot of time but I didn’t realize how much time in one day it would take. But I quickly learned how to manage my time, and finished the semester strong.

Practice

Expectation: Practice will seem to drag on.

Reality: Although there were days where practice did drag on, most practices went by fairly quick. Coach Brooks always had the practice schedule ready so we knew exactly what we were doing that practice and how much time we would be spending on that tactic. It also went by quickly because all the drills were very competitive, so I always wanted to win.

The Season Outcome

Expectation: We will be very successful.

Reality: We were just that. It was nothing less than success. We finished 7-5-5, which is a winning record. We had fun. We even topped off the season with making it to our first ever Gulf South Conference tournament game. Although we were so close to getting that win, it just showed how all of our hard work and dedication payed off. The season summed up in one word is successful.

My Relationship with Christ

Expectation: My relationship with Christ will grow not only at school, but through soccer.

Reality: My relationship with God grew so much and soccer played a big part in that. Occasionally, upperclassmen would read different stories in the Bible before practice to help us realize there is more to life than soccer. We also would pray after every practice and every game (my favorite part of practice and games). We each took turns to pray for everyone and their different prayer requests.
I am very blessed to be a part of such a great soccer program. You will not be able to find a better soccer program who loves Jesus. I cannot wait to see what this  next year has in store!

Madison Wirth, #26

 

Leave a Reply

