I am a Nursing Major and an Athlete

My name is Hannah Hewett, and I am a nursing major and a student athlete. I am a sophomore nursing major so I have only completed the prerequisite courses so far for nursing school until I actually begin clinicals in my junior year.
But already I have had to face the challenge of balancing college soccer and all of my classes. I am also a member of Chi Omega in Greek life on campus so I have to balance that in my schedule as well. No day is ever boring that’s for sure. There are some days where I go to class from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m., have practice from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m., then I have to rush to a Chi Omega meeting after, and then start homework and studying around 10 p.m.. You also have to fit your meals and socializing in your schedule somewhere.

It can be so exhausting, but I would not trade any part of it. For soccer we have to miss a lot of Thursday and Friday classes, but the professors are so understanding and are willing to work with you to make sure you can make up what you miss. There is a lot of studying on a bus on away trips, but for your study breaks you get to play the sport you love and hang out with your teammates who quickly become some of your best friends

Sometimes you will feel overwhelmed with so much schoolwork and so little time to do it with all the workouts, practices, and games, but the best part about being a student athlete is having your teammates and coaches there for you and pushing you to be the best version of yourself in every aspect of life spiritually, academically, and physically.

It’s all about taking on one day at a time and focusing on doing your best at each part of your day whether it’s your relationships with those around you, your classes or your nightly practice.

Hannah Hewett, #13

Leave a Reply

