Senior Reflection: Kelsey Wilkes

Knowing that my soccer career is over is still something I have not been able to really get used to. No more soccer practices in the cold, no more 6 A.M. weights, no more team meals, no more bus rides. So many of the best memories of my life were made either on the soccer field or off the field with my teammates because of the family that we had with each other. When I was a freshman coming to play at Union, I had no idea what to expect, but all I wanted was to step on the field and play.

I never expected to create lifelong friendships like I did. With school, soccer, friends, and clubs, it all got to be a bit overwhelming at times, but as soon as I walked into the locker room with my second family, all of those other things went away and every day from 5-7 was just hanging out with some of my closest friends playing the sport I loved.

Union itself was also an unexpected gift for me. I was a bit nervous and apprehensive coming to Union because it was smaller and I did not know anyone, but that soon changed because everyone was so welcoming. Being a part of the business school at Union has also been a huge blessing.

The professors were some of the most helpful and understanding people of my soccer schedule and always tried to work tests and assignments around MY schedule. Along with that, I’ve been able to form actual relationships with some of them, which is so rare to find at any university.

I’m so thankful for my time here at Union on the soccer team and in the business school because it has helped shape me into the person I am today, and I wouldn’t trade these years on the team for anything.

Kelsey Wilkes, #5

3 thoughts on “Senior Reflection: Kelsey Wilkes

  1. Way to go Kelsey!! Very proud of you and your many successes!! Looking forward to seeing what your future holds in store for you. 😘Aunt Sharon

    Like

  2. You were always so fun to watch on the field. Your grit and determination always showed. Hated that I never saw you play in your college uniform. Get ready world! Kelsey is ready to take on the next phase of her life!!! Get ‘er done! Mom Sue Wright

    Like

Leave a Reply

