Freshmen Season Reflection: Brooke Watson

New city. New school. New coaches. New teammates. New everything. All kinds of emotions flooded my mind as I moved to Union on August 14, 2016. I was nervous about the brand new adventure I was starting. I was anxious about preseason. Even though I was nervous and anxious, I was excited about what God was going to do in my life as I became a Union University soccer player.

Coming to Union to play soccer was a dream of mine since my sophomore year in high school.

As soon as I got here, I knew we had a special team, and we were going to have an incredible season. 

I never knew how hard I could push myself physically and mentally until I went through preseason.We had three brutal fitness tests and three practices a day for a week as we prepared for a season that would shock everyone.

We were predicted to place ninth in the GSC at the end of the season, but we overcame what others thought of us by placing fifth, which sent us to the team’s first ever conference tournament appearance. Making it to conference was no cake walk. We had to overcome physical obstacles as well as mental obstacles. In the middle of the season, we continued to tie games that we should have won, and these ties caused us to rely on the outcome of the final game of the season against North Alabama. It was a do or die. We had to win in order to move on. Knowing that this game was the most important game of the season, we worked harder than we ever had before. As soon as the whistle blew for game time, we knew what we had to do, and we did it. The game ended 1-0 in our favor, and it was all because we came together as a team and never quit.

Every single player on our roster had a crucial role to play in our success. This team is never about “I”. We are always about “team”.

That is why we were able to overcome all that came our way and make Union women’s soccer history.  Our team means the absolute world to me. I never thought that I could have such an incredible team as my family. Our coaches care about us, not only on the soccer field, but also out in the world. One of the most important things to me when deciding on where I wanted to play was if my coaches cared about my walk with the Lord. I always feel encouraged and loved after talking to them, and that in itself makes me adore my team so much. Becoming a Union soccer player was one of the best decisions I have ever made, and I am so thankful for this opportunity.
Brooke Watson #9

Leave a Reply

