A Day in the Life of a Union University Women’s Soccer Player

A day in the life of a Union soccer player is a full but rewarding day. The days often begin with my alarm going off way too early. Then I meet the team in the Wellness Center to lift weights before classes. We are all dragging in exhausted from the day before. After weights I quickly change, trying  to look decent, and head straight to my 8am class. I have a full day of class ahead of me. Typically, all of us on the team have a heavy class schedule, and we attend chapel a few times each week depending on our soccer schedule. Then I grab a quick lunch in Brewer Dining Hall, chat with friends, and head to one more class. After my final class, I head back to my dorm and eat a quick snack before practice. Before practice, I go to see our wonderful trainer, Rebekah.  Once Rebekah has worked her magic and physically prepared me for practice, I will go get geared up in the locker room. In the locker room, we listen to music, hang out, and try to get pumped up for practice.

At the beginning of each practice, we go through our dynamic, synchronized warmup and then work hard for a couple hours at whatever Coach Isaac has set up for us to work on that day. At the end of each practice, we have a special time of sharing prayer requests and then praying together. This is one of my favorite things that we do and always a highlight of my day. After practice, I head back up to the locker room, get some ice for my knees from Rebekah, and  go back to life as a student. I typically grab some dinner from The Lex, the on campus restaurant, with some girls from the team before heading  back to my room to begin homework. I will take a short break for a shower, but I keep working hard to finish my homework and prepare myself to do it all again the next day.

A day in the life of a Union soccer player is not for the faint of heart. Many days are long, hard, and demanding. However, the time I spend with my teammates throughout the day during weights, at lunch, at practice, and dinner makes my day not only bearable but enjoyable. My teammates, roommates, classmates, professors, and other friends make my days at Union fun and create an incredible atmosphere for me to grow as a student, soccer player, and Christian. A day in the life of a Union soccer player is not easy, but it is worth it.

-Hannah Daniel

One thought on “A Day in the Life of a Union University Women’s Soccer Player

Leave a Reply

