I am a Biology Major and an Athlete

I am a biology major and chemistry minor with a pre med focus, and I’m a student athlete. When touring schools as a high schooler, I was very focused on what I wanted to do after college. It was very important to me to go to a school that allowed me to branch out and do whatever major I wanted, while also getting a fair chance to play. Most division 1 programs are so focused on their outcomes on the field that they restrict what program you study so that you do not miss practice.

When I came to Union, I instantly felt from the coaching staff and faculty that they wanted me to strive spiritually, academically, and athletically.

While it’s definitely not easy juggling soccer practices, games, and schoolwork, it has been totally worth it for me. A normal week usually consists of classes during the day and usually labs one to three times a week depending on the classes I am taking. Which means I typically in class from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. Then after class, I go directly to practice. In the fall season, practices are every day from five to seven o’clock at night.  The coaches have been very flexible and forgiving when it comes to being late for school related reasons, and the same goes for the teaching faculty. If we have an away game and miss two days of school, the teachers are accommodating to the needs of student-athletes and will let us make up assignments or take early any exams that we miss while being on the road. After practice, the team usually grabs a quick dinner together, and we all take a  break to chill out before I head to the library for a night of studying. I know you might be thinking, wow I don’t think I will be able to do that or who wants to spend their night studying. Well, I have three passions: Christ, soccer, and medicine and sciences. I believe that God gave me these passions and provided a school that will allow me pursue all three of these together, and I have never been happier in my life.

Madison Studstill, #33

Leave a Reply

